



PRESS RELEASE

Reminder of Flood Debris Removal Program

Kamloops, BC – April 22, 2022 – The City of Merritt and the Thompson Nicola Regional District (TNRD) are working together to provide debris management options for properties affected by flooding in November of 2021. Residents impacted by atmospheric river flooding along the Highway 8 corridor may continue to bring debris to the Lower Nicola Eco Depot free of charge until May 31, 2022.

The Flood Debris Removal Program was launched in November, and has been funded by Emergency Management BC (EMBC). After May 31, 2022, regular tipping fees will apply for residents disposing of flood debris.

Only debris caused directly by flooding in November of 2021 is eligible to be disposed of, as part of the Flood Debris Removal Program. Residents disposing of flood debris are required to complete a declaration form at the Lower Nicola Eco Depot.

Please be prepared for longer than usual waits at the Eco-Depot, as staff process declaration forms. It is recommended that residents access the Lower Nicola Eco Depot as soon as possible to dispose of flood debris, in order to avoid potentially longer wait times. Please keep your receipts, and take photos of debris for your insurance provider, or for Disaster Financial Assistance (DFA).

The TNRD will also be collecting flood debris from the community of Brookmere on Monday, April 25, 2022, which is being done thanks to coordination with residents.

For residents or contractors who have already paid tipping fees for flood debris management, you can apply for reimbursement by downloading the <u>Flood Debris</u> <u>Reimbursement Form</u>. For more information, and to find operating hours and a list of accepted materials at the Lower Nicola Eco Depot, visit the webpage: <u>Flood Debris</u> <u>Management Information</u>.

Media contact:

Jamie Vieira, Deputy General Manager of Operations Thompson-Nicola Regional District

Tel.: 250 377-8673 Email: jvieira@tnrd.ca

MUNICIPALITIES: Ashcroft | Barriere | Cache Creek | Chase | Clearwater | Clinton

Kamloops | Logan Lake | Lytton | Merritt | Sun Peaks

ELECTORAL AREAS: "A" "B" "E" "I" "J" "L" "M" "N" "O" "P"